This course is approved by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission to offer online seller/server training and certification in Texas.


What certification does #1 TABC Certification provide?

#1 TABC by TRA provides seller-server certification and is only valid in Texas. The course will teach you state laws about alcoholic beverage sales. You will also learn techniques for intervention to ensure that sales are not made to minors or intoxicated customers. This certification is useful for individuals who sell or serve alcohol in their daily job activities. For example, it is often used in restaurants, bars, grocery stores, stadiums, at special events, etc. 

How long is the TABC certificate valid?

Your seller training certification is valid for two years from the date it is issued.

How do I obtain a copy of my TABC Certificate?

Click here to see instructions on how to access your TABC certificate. Your TABC certificate will be available for you to print and save for your personal use immediately upon passing the course.

  • We recommend that you save a copy of the certification for your personal records and make a copy for your employer. It is strongly recommended that you always maintain the original copy of your TABC certification.

How do I register and pay for the online course?

Click here to see instructions on how to register and pay for your course. Make sure you save your username and password, you will need this information to log back into the course at any time. Once you complete the registration and payment process, you will be taken to the course.

How much is your course?

The course is $14.95 retail, or $9.95 if your company is a TRA member. Need to verify TRA membership? Please email your company's name and member ID number to [email protected]

Do I have to be a member of the Texas Restaruant Association to take the #1 TABC by TRA course?

#1 TABC by TRA is open to the public, you do not have to be a member to take our course.

What type of payment do you accept?

We accepts all major credit cards and bank debit cards.

I have paid for my course, where can I access it?

Please click here to get instructions on how to login to your #1 TABC course.

Can I register for this course now & start later?

Yes, you can register now and start the course when it is convenient for you. Please be sure to write down your username and password so that you have it when you sign-in to begin the course.

How much time do I have to complete this course?

The course is available to you however long it takes you to complete it.

How do I retrieve my username or password?

If you are unable to remember your username or password, click the link on the sign-in screen. The system will email you a link to reset the username or password.

When will I be able to verify my certification on the TABC state website?

Please allow a minimum of 14 days after course completion to verify your certification on the TABC state website. If sufficient time has passed and you are still unable to locate your certification on the TABC website, please contact us here.

After my certificate expires do I have to retake the course?

Yes, TABC requires you to retake the course and exam in order to get issued a new certificate. 

When can I get recertified with #1 TABC by TRA?

You can recertify up to 30 days before your #1 TABC certificate expires. Additionally, we will send you a 30 day reminder email so you don't forget to renew. 

Who has access to the personal information I provide during registration?

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) requires all courses offering TABC certification to provide the personal information requested during registration. This information enables TABC to track certifications and assign them to the correct individuals. By providing this information, your employer may also verify your certification with the state.

We do not sell or share this information with any third parties other than the TABC as required.

Why do you need my Social Security Number and Date of Birth?

The TABC requires it this information. Your Social Security Number and Date of Birth are only used for reporting your certification to the TABC and will never be shared with anyone else.

If you don’t have a Social Security Number, you can still take our TABC certification course. TABC also accepts the following Personal Identification Numbers:

  • Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)
  • Alien Registration Number (“A” Number)
  • IV case number from a machine-readable immigrant visa (MRIV)

NOTE: According to TABC a TABC Seller Server Certificate can be revoked if you provide false information, such as social security number or birth date, at time of course registration.

Who do I contact if I need additional assistance?

Please contact #1 TABC Certification customer service. We are available Monday - Friday, 9:00am - 5:00pm and make every effort to respond to requests for assistance within 2 hours.

(512) 457-4100 Ext. 9

[email protected]