TRA Welcomes New Officers

Jul 8

The Texas Restaurant Association introduced several new officers and chapter presidents to continue the tradition of great leadership in the booming Texas restaurant industry. Texas restaurants remain pivotal in our state and region’s economic growth and job creation, with projected sales of $52.4 billion and employment of over 1.2 million people.

TRA’s 2016-17 President Tap Bentz has been an active member of the Texas Restaurant Association since 1994. He served as chairman of the Texas Restaurant Association Education Foundation, president of the Brazos Valley chapter, and has been the proprietor of Outback Steakhouse in College Station since 2004.

“It is my honor to serve as Texas Restaurant Association president for the next twelve months. I plan to continue the incredible work of my predecessors, and build on their achievements,” said Bentz. “I am looking forward to personally visiting with restaurateurs across the state to learn from them, get a better understanding of the challenges they are facing, and share how TRA is helping them succeed.”

Serving as officers with Bentz are President-Elect Mark Davis Bailey, The Original Pancake House, Dallas; Vice-President Jimmy Hasslocher, Frontier Enterprises/Jim’s Restaurants, San Antonio; and Secretary-Treasurer John Gessner, Front Burner Restaurants, Dallas.

TRA’s CEO Richie Jackson acknowledged the excitement and potential that the 2016-17 representatives bring to the table. “These restaurateurs represent over 100 years of experience in the restaurant industry. We are truly fortunate that such high caliber people choose to be involved with the Texas Restaurant Association, and give so generously their time and expertise. They bring great energy and creativity to the organization and their experience and insights will be invaluable to the association as we work to provide resources for our members to help them achieve success.”

The Texas Restaurant Association thanks all its members, past and present, for their support and officially weclomes the entire 2016-17 class of chapter presidents:

Austin: Hoover Alexander, Hoover’s Cooking

Brazos Valley: Mark Horn, Chicken Express

Coastal Bend: Lisa Pollakis, Del Mar College

Dallas: Andrew Wilt, Abacus

East Texas: Bob Westbrook, WR Ventures

El Paso: Anthony Duncan, Hudson’s Grill

Galveston: Denise Vargas, Rudy & Paco

Houston: Jonathan Horowitz, Legacy Restaurants

Lubbock: Chris Berry, River Smith’s Chicken & Catfish

Montgomery County: Chrystal Tamillo, Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse

North Texas: Joey Kittrell, The Parkway Grill & Sports Bar

Panhandle: Kevin Hawkins, Macaroni Joe’s

Permian Basin: Ryan George, Odessa Country Club

Sabine Area: Jay Jenkinson, Cheddar’s

San Angelo: Tim Condon, Angry Cactus West Texas Bar & Grill

San Antonio: Randy Stokes, The Barn Door Restaurant & Meat Market

Tarrant County: Gloria Starling, The Capital Grille

Rio Grande Valley: Larry Delgado, & bistro

Waco: Kyle Citrano, George’s #2


Add new comment

Use your first and last name as your username.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
1 + 0 =
More information?

* indicates a required field.